Nearly Two Dozen New Laws Enacted Making it Harder to Vote in 14 States

A total of 22 laws that restrict ballot access have been enacted in 14 states since the 2020 election, which is a new record for restrictive voting laws since 2011 when 19 laws enacted in 14 states, shows a new tally by the Brennan Center for Justice at the New York University School of Law, according to CNN.

According to the Brennan Center, majority of these new laws make it harder to vote absentee and by mail, after a record number of Americans voted by mail in November.

The report also identified 61 bills that were advancing through 18 state legislatures as of May 14, including those that have passed at least one chamber. Half of those envision restriction of absentee and mail-in voting while provisions targeting voter ID requirements and voter roll purges have been incorporated in about a quarter of them.. 

Republicans currently control both chambers of 30 states, including in Texas, Georgia and Arizona with Texas being a key state with the most restrictive voting bills introduced overall.

Since the 2020 election, the Brennan Center has identified at least 389 bills introduced in 48 states that include voting access restricting provisions, while the only two states where a restrictive voting bill hasn’t been introduced are Delaware and Vermont.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.