U.S. Adds Three More Countries to List of Nations Facing Travel Restrictions

President Donald Trump on Sunday issued a new proclamation which restricts the entry to the U.S. for 8 countries, including North Korea Venezuela and Chad, The Wall Street Journal reports.

The new ban is set to replace the previous order that expired on Sunday and applies to five of the six countries that were affected by the previous restrictions—Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen. Sudan was left out under the new version of the ban.

The new ban will enter into force on Oct. 18 and the countries included in the earlier version will still be covered by the old rules until then. The new proclamation is different for every country as some nations are facing outright travel bans and others are under more limited restrictions.

“As president, I must act to protect the security and interests of the United States and its people,” Trump wrote in the Sunday order.

Trump’s first executive order, issued after he entered into office, caused great chaos at the airports, protests across the country and a quick judicial rebuke. The second version of the order, in March, allowed for the restrictions to be phased in, however, it was also stalled by the courts almost immediately before the Supreme Court in June allowed a modified version to take effect.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.