Only 9 EU Countries Still Escape the US ‘Do Not Travel’ COVID Warning

US Aviation grants 5G
Image credit: EPA

Germany and Denmark found themselves marked on Monday as “Covid-19 Very High” in the Level 4 category by the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the State Department and joined the already long list of European countries where Americans are advised not to travel due to the rising number of COVID cases.

The CDC elevated its travel recommendation to “Level Four: Very High” while the State Department issued parallel “Do Not Travel” advisories for both countries urging US nationals not to travel there or to make sure they’re fully vaccinated if the travel’s unavoidable.

The CDC current list contains 75 places in the world that had more than 500 COVID cases per 100,000 people for each of the past 28 days, including the majority of European countries, with only Portugal, Spain, France, Italy, Malta, Poland, Sweden, Finland, and Cyprus escaping the designation among EU members.

The World Health Organization (WHO) urged earlier this month European countries to work harder to prevent the COVID from spreading further as deaths and new cases surge to new records, bringing the current transmission rates in 53 European countries at a level of “grave concern”.

WHO’s Hans Kluge warned that in a situation that has been exacerbated by the more transmissible Delta variant of the virus, they all must change the tactics and behavioral patterns.

The travel advisories come in the wake of the reopening of the US borders earlier this month to fully vaccinated international travelers that are allowed to enter the United States by showing proof of vaccination as well as a negative COVID-19 test taken within three days of their trip.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.